Odette disrupts service of 26 ECs in 19 VisMin provinces

odette track

Typhoon Odette has so far knocked down 30 transmission lines, affecting the services of 26 electric cooperatives (ECs) in 19 provinces in the Visayas and Mindanao grids.

Based on the National Grid Corporation of the Philippines’ 9AM bulletin on Friday, power remains unavailable in the entire Surigao Del Norte, Camiguin, Bohol, and Biliran, as six transmission lines were shut down, affecting customers of the Surigao del Norte Electric Cooperative, Camiguin Electric Cooperative, Bohol I and II Electric Cooperatives and the Biliran Electric Cooperative.

Meanwhile, power is partly out in Eastern Samar, Leyte, Southern Leyte, Cebu, Negros Oriental, Iloilo, Antique, Capiz, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Lanao del Norte, Agusan Del Norte, Agusan Del Sur, Surigao Del Sur, and Davao Oriental.

According to PAGASA, Odette first made landfall in Siargao Island, Surigao Del Norte on Thursday afternoon before heading to Dinagat Islands and Southern Leyte. It then made landfall in Pres. Carlos P. Garcia, Bohol at 630PM on Thursday night before hitting Cebu and Negros Oriental.

Odette is now over the Sulu Sea and is expected to head towards northern Palawan, particularly close to the Malampaya gas facility.