Alsons to begin 105-MW coal plant in 2019


Alsons Power Group has received five bid offers to construct its 105 MW coal-fired power plant in Talisayan, Zamboanga City.

SRPI Project Manager Archimedes Donatos said that the proposals are for the engineering, procurement, and construction (EPC) of the 105-MW San Ramon Power Inc. (SRPI) plant are from five “reputable firms with extensive international experience” in construction and engineering.

The said companies are Dongfang Electric International Corp based in China; Jurong Engineering Ltd, which is in Singapore;  Northeast No.1 Electric Power Construction Co., Ltd. (NEPC 1) – a wholly-owned subsidiary of China Energy Engineering Group; Shandong Electric Power Construction Company (SEPCO III) – a subsidiary of Power Construction Corp. of China; and Pune, India-based ThyssenKrupp Industries India Pvt. Ltd. – a subsidiary of Germany’s Thyssenkrupp AG.

“The people of Zamboanga City and nearby areas can look forward to a state-of-the-art baseload power plant right here in the city to provide safe, reliable and affordable electricity,” Donato said.  

Construction will start in the first half of 2019 and will begin commercial operations in 2022.

Alsons Power Vice President for project development Joseph Nocos highlighted the company’s commitment to finish the project.

“These bid submissions are a testimony to the keen interest the SRPI project has generated and are a vote of confidence to the future of Zamboanga City,” he said.

The SRPI plant is seen to provide baseload power to Zamboanga City and neighboring areas.

Once operational, its role is crucial in stabilizing the power supply in the Zamboanga.

Aside from the SRPI plant, Alsons Power is also bidding for the 2×105-MW Sarangani Energy Corp. (SEC) plant, which will start its operation in the first half of 2019. It alrady operated its first section in 2016.

Alsons Power is also delving into renewable energy ventures through run-of-river hydroelectric power projects with a total hydro capacity potential totaling more than 145 MW in Negros Occidental, Sarangani, Davao Oriental, Zamboanga del Norte, the two Agusan Provinces, and Surigao del Sur.