DOE forms team for Agus-Pulangi privatization


The Department of Energy (DOE) has orginaized a team to recommend policies regarding the privatization of the Agus-Pulangi Hydropower Complex (APHC), as well as other energy issues in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Energy Sec. Alfonso Cusi, in a department order, has tasked the formation of a technical working group (TWG) to provide policy recommendations on issues pertaining to the APHC privatization and the resolution of power sector concerns in the Bangsamoro region.

The recommendations would be done with full consideration of the provisions of Republic Act 11054 or the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) and Republic Act 9136 or the Electric Power Industry Reform Act (EPIRA).

Energy Asec. Redentor Delola will chair the TWG and will be joined by representatives from the following agencies: Energy Regulatory Commission, Mindanao Development Authority, National Electrification Administration, National Power Corporation, National Transmission Corporation, and the Power Sector Assets and Liabilities Management Corporation.

The DOE formed the TWG after the Intergovernmental Energy Board, co-chaired by Cusi, moved to create the group to discuss matters related to the privatization and other power issues connected to the asset’s sale that require in-depth legal and technical assessment.

The 982-megawatt (MW) APHC – considered one of the Mindanao power industry’s crown jewels – is among the government’s remaining power assets. At present, its facilities can only supply up to 40% of their total capacity to the Mindanao grid due to its age.

The Agus Complex comprises of six cascading power plants which uses the water from Lake Lanao in Marawi City, flowing through the Agus River and down to Maria Cristina Falls in Iligan City. Marawi City is part of BARMM.

Meanwhile, the Pulangi complex in Maramag, Bukidnon is a 255-MW hydropower facility with three generating units.