Typhoon Rosita leaves seven Luzon provinces power-less

transmission lines

Apayao, Kalinga, Cagayan, Nueva Vizcaya, Isabela, Ifugao, and Quirino lost electricity as Typhoon Rosita (international name Yutu) battered northern Luzon this week.

Transmission lines in seven Luzon provinces were knocked down, affecting a total of 14 69-kilovolt (kv) and 230-kv according to the National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP).

Meanwhile, Ilocos Norte, Pangasinan, and Quezon are experiencing partial power loss due to downed transmission facilities.

NGCP said it is still monitoring the full extent of damage made by Rosita on transmission lines and facilities.

Inspection and restoration of lines in the affected areas will be in full swing as soon as the weather allows.

Before the typhoon, the Department of Energy (DOE) said the Task Force on Energy Resiliency (TFER) made preparatory measures to reduce the impact of the storm.

The National Power Corporation (Napocor) also began preparation on its supervised hydroelectric dams such as Ambuklao, Binga, San Roque, Angat, and Caliraya dams.

For National Electrification Administration’s (NEA) part, they sent typhoon preparedness notices to all electric cooperatives as early as October 24.

The agency also advised ECs to activate their Emergency Restoration Organization (ERO) to implement their Emergency Restoration Plan (ERP).

The Manila Electric Co. (Meralco) also conducted preparatory activities in Metro Manila.